About Us

Who we are

The North Saskatchewan River Basin Council is a non-profit organization that has formed to support and direct the implementation of the Source Water Protection Plan for our watershed. The plan has been built over 4 years of public consultations with the assistance of the Water Security Agency (WSA). Because the watershed is so large and source water protection is a long term project we will need community support in order to be successful. We are actively seeking community involvement. Water affects everyone so it is important that everyone has a chance to be involved with protecting it. 

How we came to be

After the drinking water crisis in North Battleford, in 2001, one of the recommendations made by the Commission of Inquiry report was to designate an agency to lead in source water protection. WSA took charge and has succeeded in developing plans for many of the watersheds throughout the province. The North Saskatchewan River Watershed is one of the more recent areas that have completed the planning process. To review the preliminary background report on the North Saskatchewan River Watershed click here: Background Report.
The North Saskatchewan River Basin Council has successfully incorporated. To view our articles of incorporation click here.
We recently updated our Bylaws.

Vision and Mission

Our Vision
An environment where all life has access to clean, safe water.

Our Mission
Source water protection & sustainability.

The Plan

The North Saskatchewan River Watershed Source Water Protection Plan, as mentioned before, has been built by the public. It is described as a living document intended to develop and evolve as water issues in the basin change. To view the document online click here: North Saskatchewan River Watershed Source Water Protection Plan

Board Structure

The following is the board structure to run the implementation of the plan.

Click below to enlarge

Last updated: September 27, 2021

Chair: John Kindrachuk
Vice Chair: Vacant
Past Chair: Vacant
Secretary: Vacant
Treasurer: Karen Pedersen
Membership: Paul Rybka
Directors: Michael McCallister, Ron Crush, Sarah Kemp, Darcy Lightle, and Sheila Moench.